My SQL Saturday speaking debut will have to wait.  SQL Saturday Orlando was postponed due to Hurricane Mathew.

While I am certainly disappointed, I quickly realized how my experience parallels those old sayings regarding journeys and destinations.  Even though I did not deliver my presentation, I gained a tremendous amount of knowledge and experience as I prepared.  This was my journey.

While preparing demos and content, I learned more about Azure SQL DB than I would have otherwise.

I also learned about speaking.  Many of my colleagues are experienced speakers, and I’ve  learned techniques that have made them successful.  This will undoubtedly benefit me as my career progresses.

Looking back, I find a certain amount of satisfaction in what I’ve learned and how I prepared.

For now, it’s back to the journey.

 

 

